Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police

The Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police is proud to present

Sgt. Tara-Lynne Norman Member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police "F" Division

with the

Community Policing Award

Sgt. Norman has been a member of the RCMP since 2003.

Sgt. Norman’s contributions to the northern communities of Patuanak and the English River First Nations during her short time there in 2014 - 2015 are commendable. Relations between the RCMP and the community flourished so much, that when former Chief Marie Black learned of Sgt. Norman’s promotion and transfer, she wrote a letter to the North District Commander in an effort to keep her there.

In the community she became engaged with the youth, making herself a resource, always open for questions and support, and in doing so, provided the youth with an opportunity to see the RCMP as much more than a uniform.

Sgt. Norman volunteered her time assisting with whatever tasks needed to be done, such as:

  1. Family Week – cutting wood, preparing meals and setting up tents.
  2. Delivering meals to Elders who could not attend the community events.
  3. Spending her own time developing friendships with Elders.
  4. Assisting with preparations for the 103rd Birthday celebrations for Sarazine Ratt.
  5. Providing support for the family of a fatal house fire – donating personal and household items.
  6. Arranging for the RCMP Detachment, including the cell area to be smudged on a regular basis.

Sgt. Norman immersed herself in the community and its daily activities and was not only accepted by the community as an RCMP Member, she became referred to as an adopted daughter by some and a trusted friend by the rest.

Her love of the Northern Community provided her with plenty of local support to create a celebration of the community and its Dene Culture in April, 2015 when she hosted a delegation from the French Gendarmerie and the RCMP North District.

Sgt. Norman practices the true style of Community Based Policing and the Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police is proud to recognize Sgt. Tara-Lynne Norman with the “Community Policing Award”.



Chief Troy Hagen
President, Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police