Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police

The Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police
 is proud to present

Acting Detective Sergeant Kyla Hicks
of the Saskatoon Police Service

With the


Acting Detective Sergeant Kyla Hicks began her policing career as a civilian dispatcher with Regina Police Service in 1998. In 2000, Regina Police Service hired her as a constable and in 2002 she became a constable in the Uniform Patrol Division with Saskatoon Police Service. In 2005, she transferred to the General Investigations Section and, in 2008, began working in the Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit (CFSEU). In September of 2012, she transferred to the Major Crime Homicide Unit.

A/D/Sergeant Hicks exemplifies the qualities and attributes of a very capable, thorough and dedicated investigator. She exceeds in every key performance measure and responsibility listed in the CFSEU Saskatchewan Performance Measures document. She is very well respected by her peers and supervisors and is both team and goal oriented. Putting forth her very best effort on every occasion has earned her a reputation within the Saskatoon Police Service as being hard working and always ready to accept new challenges, more responsibilities, and demanding, flexible shift schedules. She is well-organized and has performed very well in the role of lead investigator on complex CFSEU files.

A/D/Sergeant Hicks is a mentor to other investigators and has developed outstanding relationships with specialized RCMP units as well as the Federal and the Provincial Crown Prosecutors. She instructs warrant writing at the Saskatoon Police Service and at the Saskatchewan Police College. She sets very high standards for herself and is an honest, dedicated police officer with integrity above reproach. Clearly, A/D/Sergeant Hicks has shown exemplary performance in her police work.

The Saskatchewan Chiefs of Police is proud to recognize Acting Detective Sergeant Kyla Hicks with the Excellence in Performance Award.


Chief Troy Hagen
President, Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police